Signs of the Zodiac

Leo the lion
© F H Powell 2016

If, when thumbing through a newspaper or magazine and stumbling on the horoscopes page, can you resist a quick look at the fortune predicted for your star sign? Most people know their Zodiac sign and the symbol that represents it. Indeed, some say they have empathy in their own character with their sign, whether it be the rage of Taurus the bull or the sting in the tail of the Scorpio scorpion.

So where did theses signs of the Zodiac come from? The zodiac depicts the path of the sun across the heavens over a year and divides it into 12 parts or signs. This dividing of the heavens is thought to date back to the 7th century BC in what is now present day Iraq and is referred to in historical works as Babylonia. The Babylonians then assigned each of the Zodiac signs to a month of the year. Their year started on the vernal equinox, which is when the sun crosses the equator into the northern hemisphere. This is on or around the 21st March and is why the first Zodiac sign, Aries, runs from 21st March. Then with the heavens divided from this point into 12 equal divisions of 30 degrees, the stars in theses sections (constellations) were joined in imaginary pictures of what then became the Zodiac signs. In reality it’s not quite that simple as the size of each constellation varies and the sun does not spend the same amount of time in each constellation. But the Zodiac is accepted as a representation of the constellations.

So we now have the recognised signs of the Zodiac:

Aries: March 21 – April 19
Taurus: April 20 – May 20
Gemini: May 21 – June 20
Cancer: June 21 – July 22
Leo: July 23 – August 22
Virgo: August 23 – Sept. 22
Libra: Sept. 23 – October 22
Scorpio: October 23 – Nov. 21
Sagittarius: Nov. 22 – Dec. 21
Capricorn: Dec. 22 – Jan. 19
Aquarius: Jan. 20 – Feb. 18
Pisces: Feb. 19 – March 20

We have a series of filet crochet patterns (exclusively available in instantly downloadable pdf format) showing the signs of the zodiac. These can be used to make cushion covers, pictures, wedding presents and even a bedspread. Click on the above links for the individual patterns associated with the various zodiac signs for more information about each pattern. The full set of all 12 signs can also be purchased at a reduced price (over buying all patterns individually), for details see below.

pattern for Sagittarius
© F H Powell 2012

Alternatively buy all 12 Zodiac panels together for £7.99 (NOTE: EU VAT or other digital taxes will be added to price where applicable)

This eBook of 12 Zodiac signs is also available on LoveKnitting


Cancellation of digital goods Under the UK provisions of Consumer Contracts (Information, Cancellation and Additional Charges) Regulations 2013 the following conditions will apply: By clicking the download button(s) on the Ravelry download page you expressly request that the digital content is immediately available for download (this may be within the 14 days statutory cancellation period) and you agree to waive your right to cancel and refund once the download(s) has started.

For a pdf copy of our Privacy Policy and the full terms and conditions:

Copyright Notice All rights reserved. All patterns are for private use only and may not be reproduced in any form, or reproduced for commercial gain including selling any item knitted up from these patterns without written permission from Buttercup Miniatures. Reproducing or transmitting these patterns by any means for any purpose other than for personal use constitutes a violation of UK copyright law.